OUR FRUIT - Grapefruit (citrus paradisi)

 

Grapefruit, chadek pomelo ?

While it is easy to tell these fruits apart when they are side by side, they are very often mixed up, like clementines and mandarins. Again in this case, we have two different species, one being the other's ancestor.

 

The origins

The true grapefruit (citrus maxima or citrus grandis) originates from Indonesia and Malaysia. It was cultivated in China in 2000 B.C. Its fruits are enormous (several kilogrammes), delicious and full of seeds. The history of its introduction in Europe left little footprints, because the interest is purely botanical curiosity : its fruit needs high temperatures to reach maturity. In 1693, the English captain Shaddock planted grapefruit seeds in Barbados. By chance, hybridization occurred between a true type grapefruit tree and an orange tree. A tree born from this crossbreeding was "discovered." So was born the "pomelo" (citrus paradisi).

The grapefruit was first cultivated in the Caribbean, and then in Florida, where it has been prevalent since the end of the 19th century. It remains a young citrus crop in European orchards (mostly Italy and Spain). The introduction in Corsica truly began with the red-flesh variety Star Ruby around 1990.

 

Cultivation

THE CULTIVATION CYCLE OF THE GRAPEFRUIT IN CORSICA IS AN ODDITY :

Hardier than clementine, lemon or orange, it withstands the winter perfectly and is the only citrus fruit to be picked well after winter, and sometimes even until summer.

On the in some orchards of the east cost of Corsica with soils that easily warm up, the Star Ruby grapefruit can reach maturity around February. From April, all the plantations are ready… In Mai we still go on with picking while trees begin to blossom. In June, harvest is not yet completed and the trees already bear small fruits for next year's production !

=> Every year, the fruits harvested are from the previous year's blossoms, and some fruits spend more than 12 months on the tree.

HOW ? Like lemon, and a lot longer than clementines and oranges, grapefruits can keep on trees when fully mature, a feature that allows us to organize harvesting according to demand… with a single variety : Star Ruby, a red-flesh grapefruit, which is adapted to our climate and has a good commercial value.

Avoiding heavy cold storage costs, this choice is not risk-free, since part of the harvest can be lost in case of hail, strong winds or parasite attacks. But it remains the best solution to provide real freshness to the end consumer. It also reduces need for seasonal workers, as harvest goes on over a much longer period. This organisation allows better employment security for farm workers.

 

Use :

  • As an appetizer or dessert, half a large grapefruit per person (or one small piece)
  • Freshly-squeezed
  • Diced in a vitamin-rich salad
  • In a fresh fruit salad

 

Fruit size

For your consideration, this short paragraph is of course valid for other fruit species, citrus fruits, avocados and also apples, tomatoes, etc.

FRUIT SIZE VARIES :

  • From one species to the next (true type grapefruit or pomelo).
  • From one variety to the next (for pomelos, we only have one, but if we consider the example of clementine varieties, we find that the early fruits harvested in late October are generally smaller than those picked in late December).
  • And then, on the same tree, the size still varies widely : like in a village or family, where one finds tall people and short people. However, the origin is the same, and there is no principle based on size (weight) to declare one fruit better than another.

IN STORES, FRUITS ARE OFTEN THE SAME SIZE

Because they have been graded before packing.

This is not spontaneous or natural, but mandatory because of "standardization" which regulates the sale of fruits and vegetables.

Standardization is based solely on presentation criteria ! (Size or weight + visual appearance criteria)

On a same tree, the size of grapefruits varies from 200 g to nearly 1 kg, most grapefruits being in the 300 – 400 g range. And they are all equally good !

The average sizes are preferred solely by force of habit and often sold at a higher price.

Fruits that are "too small" or "too big" are often snubbed by stores (because of a lack of space, there is only one type of grapefruit), since they sell less quickly, again out of habit. They are generally delivered at promotional prices so they don't have to be thrown away.

THE QUALITY OF THE FRUITS CANNOT BE MEASURED BY THEIR SIZE, APPEARANCE OR PRICE : IT'S ALL IN THE TASTE !

 

See our recipes :

 

 

 

Oranges douces bio corses - Alimea

Oranges douces bio corses - Alimea

Oranges douces bio corses - Alimea

Oranges douces bio corses - Alimea

Oranges douces bio corses - Alimea

Oranges douces bio corses - Alimea

Oranges douces bio corses - Alimea

Oranges douces bio corses - Alimea

 

 

 

 

Citrus fruit | Citron | Lemon | Clementine | Kumquat | Mandarin | Orange | Bitter orange | Grapefruit
Home | Why Alimea ? | Our approach | Life at the orchard | Tips | Things to know | A few websites | Sitemap | Contacts
Our fruit | Production calendar | Printable sheets

ALIMEA - Organic fruit from Corsica - Bravone - F-20230 Linguizzetta - Tel. : +33 (0)4 95 38 88 74

Nos fruits - Le pomelo (citrus paradisi)

 

Pomelo ou pamplemousse ?

Impossible de les confondre lorsqu’ils sont présentés côte à côte, et pourtant… La confusion est très fréquente comme entre clémentine et mandarine. Là aussi, deux espèces différentes, l’un étant ancêtre de l’autre.

 

L'origine

Le pamplemousse vrai (citrus maxima ou citrus grandis) est originaire d’Indonésie et de Malaisie. Il est cultivé en Chine en 2000 avant JC. Ses fruits sont énormes (plusieurs kilogrammes), savoureux et pleins de pépins. L’histoire de son introduction en Europe a laissé peu de traces car il n’y a qu’un intérêt de curiosité botanique : son fruit a besoin de fortes températures pour arriver à maturité. En 1693 le capitaine anglais Shaddock sème des pépins de pamplemousses à la Barbade. Par hasard, un pamplemoussier s’hybridera à un oranger. Un arbre issu du croisement sera "découvert" : Ainsi nait le pomelo (citrus paradisi).

Le pomelo sera cultivé d’abord dans les Caraïbes puis en Floride où il est très présent dès la fin du XIXe siècle. Il est encore un jeune agrume dans le verger européen (Italie, Espagne essentiellement). Il a réellement commencé son implantation en Corse avec la variété à chair rouge Star Ruby vers 1990.

 

La culture

Le cycle de culture du pomelo en Corse est une curiosité :

Plus rustique que la clémentine, le citron ou l’orange, il passe parfaitement l’hiver et c’est le seul agrume qui se ramasse une fois l’hiver terminé, souvent même jusqu’en été.

Le pomelo Star Ruby arrive à maturité sur la plaine orientale autour du mois de février dans certains vergers au sol se réchauffant facilement. A partir d’avril, toutes les plantations sont à leur maturité… On récolte encore et les arbres commencent à fleurir. En juin, la récolte n’est pas terminée et les arbres portent déjà les petits fruits pour la production de l’année suivante !

=> Chaque année, on récolte des fruits issus de la floraison de l’année précédente et certains fruits passent plus de 12 mois sur l’arbre.

Comment ? Comme le citron et beaucoup, beaucoup plus longtemps que la clémentine et l’orange, le pomelo se stocke sur l’arbre une fois arrivé à maturité, caractéristique qui nous permet d’avancer la cueillette au fur et à mesure des besoins de la vente… avec une seule et unique variété : le Star Ruby, pomelo à chair rouge, à la fois adapté à notre climat et à une bonne valorisation commerciale.

Moins coûteux en matériel lourd de stockage (grandes chambres froides), ce choix n’est pas sans risque, une partie de la récolte pouvant être perdue en cas de grêle, vent violent, attaque de parasites. Il reste la meilleure solution pour offrir la plus grande fraîcheur au consommateur final. Il permet également d’employer moins (ou pas) de saisonniers mais plus longtemps, ce qui réduit la précarité du travail agricole.

 

Utilisation :

  • En hors d’œuvre ou dessert, une moitié de gros pomelo par personne (ou un petit)
  • En jus frais pressé
  • Coupé en dés dans une salade vitaminée
  • Dans une salade de fruits frais

 

De la taille des fruits

Livré à votre réflexion, ce petit paragraphe est bien sûr valable pour les autres espèces fruitières, agrumes, avocats, mais aussi pommes, poires, tomates et scoubidous.

La taille des fruits varie :

  • d’une espèce à l’autre (pamplemousse ou pomelo)
  • d’une variété à l’autre (là, on n’en a qu’une en pomelo mais prenons exemple des variétés de clémentines : les précoces récoltées fin octobre sont globalement plus petites que celles récoltées fin décembre).
  • Ensuite sur un même arbre, çà varie encore beaucoup : c’est comme dans un village ou dans une famille, il y a des grands, des moins grands et des carrément petits de taille. Mais tous ont la même origine et il n’y a pas de principe pour décréter d’après la taille - le poids - qui est meilleur ou moins bon.

En magasin les fruits sont souvent de même taille.

Parce qu’ils ont été calibrés avant d’être emballés.

Ce n’est pas spontané, ni naturel mais obligatoire en raison de la "normalisation" qui règlemente la vente des fruits et légumes

La normalisation est rédigée sur des critères de présentation uniquement ! (taille ou poids + critères d’aspect visuel)

Sur un même arbre la taille des pomelos va de 200 g à près de 1 kg, la plupart des pomelos se situant dans la tranche des 300 – 400 g. Et tous sont également bons !

Les tailles moyennes sont souvent préférées par habitude prise et souvent vendues plus cher.

Les "trop petits" ou "trop gros" sont souvent délaissés par les magasins (par manque de place, pour éviter les erreurs, il n’y a qu’une sorte de pomelo) car ils se vendent moins vite, toujours par habitude. Pour éviter de les jeter, ils sont généralement expédiés à des prix d’appel.

La qualité des fruits ne se juge pas par leur taille, ni leur aspect, ni leur prix : elle se goûte !

 

Voir nos recettes :

 

 

 

Oranges douces bio corses - Alimea

Oranges douces bio corses - Alimea

Oranges douces bio corses - Alimea

Oranges douces bio corses - Alimea

Oranges douces bio corses - Alimea

Oranges douces bio corses - Alimea

Oranges douces bio corses - Alimea

Oranges douces bio corses - Alimea

 

 

 

 

Agrumes | Cédrat | Citron | Clémentine | Kumquat | Mandarine | Orange | Orange amère | Pomelo
Accueil | Présentation | Démarche | La vie du verger | Les plus | Savoirs | Liens | Plan du site | Contacts
Nos fruits | Leur saison | Fiches imprimables

ALIMEA - Fruits corses issus de l'agriculture biologique - Bravone - F-20230 Linguizzetta - Tél. : 04 95 38 88 74