OUR FRUIT - Sweet orange (citrus sinensis)

 

Oranges are the 4th most cultivated fruit in the world, surpassed only by grapes, bananas and apples. It has a worldwide market and its main producers are Brazil, the United States and Morocco. Most of the production is for the agri-food industry : concentrates and fruit juices (the most popular fruit juice in the world), ingredient in drinks, etc. In terms of fresh fruit consumption, it holds the second position in France, behind the apple and before the banana.

Our Corsican and organic production is minuscule in comparison… and it represents a low volume compared to our clementine and grapefruit productions.

Seems illogical ? Yes, because the orange tree is perfectly adapted to our soils and weather. Orange trees had a prominent place in ancient orchards intended for subsistence. Hardier than clementine trees, they are admired in gardens and around the villages, where exceptional orange trees are not a rare sight.

The reason why the orange tree has not kept its ranking today in Corsica for production intended for sale is because of its low price, far below a fair price. , which forces farmers to give up growing oranges. The orange is relegated to a level of minor production, essentially intended – like lemon or avocado – for customers that care about local purchases !

 

Origins

The orange tree originates from China.

There are two great pathways that led this fruit to Europe :

Introduced by the Persians and Arabs, bitter oranges (Seville oranges) were brought back from crusades to Sicily, and expanded from there.

As for sweet oranges, they were discovered in China in the 16th century by Portuguese sailors. The expansion of orange crops really began from there.

 

Varieties

Sweet oranges come in a variety of shapes and tastes, as well as a long production period (6 months) throughout a region or country.

The varieties are divided into four groups :

  • NAVEL ORANGES,recognizable by their navel-like hollow opposite from the stalk. Navel varieties are the first oranges in season. Their colour (skin, flesh and juice) is uniformly orange. They are found from the end of October to early November.
  • BLOND ORANGES, orange in colour, harvested in peak season (winter).
  • BLOOD ORANGES are a colourful variety with completely or partially red skin and/or flesh. These are peak-season varieties.
  • LATE ORANGES end the season in the spring. They are orange in colour.

Moreover, the orange is not a fragile fruit and can be cold stored for several months. It can therefore be marketed long after harvesting. Still, the Northern Hemisphere (mainly Spain, Italy and Morocco) do not cover a full consumption year. In the summer and autumn, oranges originate mainly from the Southern Hemisphere (high importation).

The varied collection in old Corsican gardens is very rich and includes all types of sweet oranges.

As for the Alimea orchard, it is limited to two locations : a very small diversified orchard and a 5-hectare plantation with the Tarocco Rosso variety.

The Tarocco Rosso orange is a light blood orange, meaning that its colour is halfway between a blond orange and a true blood orange.

The colouring of light blood oranges is more irregular and varies greatly from one year to the next (depending on weather) and even from one tree to the next on the same plantation. Oftentimes, a light blood orange is discovered only after peeling it, with part of its pulp being various shades of red… Sometimes, most fruits are even the same colour as blond oranges !

The main difference between light blood and blood oranges, other than the difference in colour intensity, is the nature of pigments : solely lycopene and other carotenoids for light blood oranges, while dark red ones also produce anthocyanins.

 

Use

Oranges are enjoyed as a dessert or snack.

Let's not forget either its home use for freshly-squeezed juice : it doesn't get any fresher than this… All you need is a simple orange squeezer. It's easy, quick and entertaining for kids, and orange skin is compostable : no glass or tetra-brick to recycle !

Also of note is that orange zest is used, in grated or chopped form, for cooking, baking, herbal teas and other drinks and candied orange peels (easy recipe).

 

See our recipes :

 

Oranges douces bio corses - Alimea

Oranges douces bio corses - Alimea

Oranges douces bio corses - Alimea

Oranges douces bio corses - Alimea

Oranges douces bio corses - Alimea
Variété Tarocco Rosso (demi-sanguine)

 

 

 

 

 

Citrus fruit | Citron | Lemon | Clementine | Kumquat | Mandarin | Orange | Bitter orange | Grapefruit
Home | Why Alimea ? | Our approach | Life at the orchard | Tips | Things to know | A few websites | Sitemap | Contacts
Our fruit | Production calendar | Printable sheets

ALIMEA - Organic fruit from Corsica - Bravone - F-20230 Linguizzetta - Tel. : +33 (0)4 95 38 88 74

Nos fruits - L'orange douce (citrus sinensis)

 

L’orange est le 4ème fruit le plus cultivé au monde derrière le raisin, la banane et la pomme. Son marché est mondial avec comme principaux pays producteurs le Brésil, les Etats Unis et le Maroc. Le gros de la production est destiné à l’industrie agro-alimentaire : concentrés et jus de fruits (le jus en bouteille le plus consommé au monde), ingrédient de boissons, biscuits, etc. En terme de consommation de fruit frais, elle se place en France en seconde position, derrière la pomme et juste avant la banane.

Notre production corse et biologique est infime en comparaison… et elle représente un faible volume par rapport à nos productions de clémentines et pomelos.

Paradoxal ? Oui car l’oranger est parfaitement adapté à nos sols et notre climat. Les orangers avaient une place de choix dans les anciens vergers destinés à l’autoconsommation. Plus rustiques que les clémentiniers, ils se donnent à admirer dans les jardins et autour et des villages où les orangers remarquables ne sont pas rares.

Si l’oranger ne tient pas aujourd’hui son rang en Corse pour la production destinée à la vente, c’est en raison de son prix trop faible, loin du prix juste et rémunérateur, qui oblige les arboriculteurs à le délaisser. L’orange est reléguée à un niveau de production anecdotique, destinée essentiellement - comme le citron ou l’avocat - à une filière courte et soucieuse de l’origine de ses achats !

 

Origine

L’oranger est originaire de Chine.

On peut distinguer deux grandes routes de pénétration de ce fruit en Europe :

Transmise par les Perses aux Arabes, l’orange amère (bigarade) fut ramenée des croisades en Sicile à partir d’où elle se diffusa.

L’orange douce quand à elle fut découverte en Chine au XVIème siècle par des navigateurs portugais. L’expansion de la culture de l’orange commence réellement à partir de là.

 

Variétés

Les oranges douces offrent une diversité de formes et de goûts assortie d’une période de production longue (6 mois) à l’échelle d’une région ou d’un pays.

Les variétés se répartissent en 4 groupes :

  • les navels, reconnaissables à leur « nombril », à l’opposé du pédoncule. Les variétés de Navel sont les premières oranges de saison. Leur couleur (peau, chair et jus) est uniformément orange. On les trouve à partir de fin octobre-début novembre.
  • les blondes, de couleur orange, récoltées en pleine saison (hiver).
  • les sanguines, sont des variétés colorées dont l’épiderme et/ou la chair et le jus sont rouges totalement ou partiellement. Ce sont des variétés de pleine saison.
  • les tardives, terminent la saison au printemps. Elles sont de couleur orange.

De plus l’orange n’est pas un fruit fragile et se conserve plusieurs mois en chambre froide. Elle peut donc être commercialisée longtemps après récolte. Pour autant l’hémisphère nord (principalement Espagne, Italie, Maroc) ne couvre pas une année complète de consommation. En été et en automne, les oranges proviennent pour l’essentiel de l’hémisphère sud (grande importation).

La collection variétale des anciens jardins corses et très riche et comprend tous les types d’oranges douces.

Le verger d’Alimea quand à lui se limite aujourd’hui à deux sites : un tout petit verger diversifié et une plantation de 5 ha de variété Tarocco Rosso.

La Tarocco Rosso est une orange demi-sanguine, c’est à dire à couleur intermédiaire entre l’orange blonde et la sanguine très pigmentée.

La coloration des demi-sanguines est moins régulière et varie énormément d’une année sur l’autre (sous l’influence du climat) et même entre 2 arbres de la même plantation. Souvent on ne reconnaît une demi-sanguine qu’après l’avoir ouverte, à une portion de ses filaments d’un rouge plus ou moins intense… Parfois même, la majorité de ses fruits ont la même couleur que les oranges blondes !

La caractéristique principale qui différencie demi-sanguines et sanguines, à part la différence d’intensité de couleur est la nature des pigments : uniquement lycopène et autres caroténoïdes pour les demi-sanguines, les sanguines très rouges produisant aussi des pigments anthocianes.

 

Utilisation

L’orange se savoure en dessert ou en-cas.

Plaidons aussi pour son utilisation à la maison en jus, pressée à l’instant : il n’y a pas plus frais… Un simple presse agrume suffit, c’est facile, rapide, ludique pour les enfants et la peau des oranges bio est compostable : pas de verre ni de tetra-brick à recyler !

Ne pas oublier que le zeste d’orange s’emploie également, gratté ou ciselé, en cuisine, pâtisserie, tisanes et autres boissons, écorces d’orange confites (recette facile).

 

Voir nos recettes :

 

Oranges douces bio corses - Alimea

Oranges douces bio corses - Alimea

Oranges douces bio corses - Alimea

Oranges douces bio corses - Alimea

Oranges douces bio corses - Alimea
Variété Tarocco Rosso (demi-sanguine)

 

 

 

 

 

Agrumes | Cédrat | Citron | Clémentine | Kumquat | Mandarine | Orange | Orange amère | Pomelo
Accueil | Présentation | Démarche | La vie du verger | Les plus | Savoirs | Liens | Plan du site | Contacts
Nos fruits | Leur saison | Fiches imprimables

ALIMEA - Fruits corses issus de l'agriculture biologique - Bravone - F-20230 Linguizzetta - Tél. : 04 95 38 88 74