OUR FRUIT - Kumquat

 

AN EXOTIC FRUIT ON THE ISLE OF BEAUTY

Kumquat (Fortunella Japonica) is part of the large citrus family. It looks like a small orange, but it is in fact a completely separate species. Little known in Europe, it is grown in the Far East, where it is very popular because of its flavour and for medicinal purposes (it is an excellent general tonic). It brings an exotic note to the assortment of citrus fruits from January to April.

 

A fountain of health

Very high in vitamin C and very rich in essential oils, kumquat is an excellent energizer. In fact, in its traditional growing area, it is known for this use and preserved longer in candied or pickled form.

If you find this fruit, simply enjoy it fresh and whole. No need to peel it ! Its thin skin is sweet and fragrant. Its pulp has a tart and refreshing taste.

It is also used in the preparation of exotic pickles or candied fruits.

 

Cultivation

Resistant to cold, the kumquat tree is also very hardy and perfectly adapted to Corsica's coastal climate. Its fruits are harvested and sent as they mature, from January to mid-April.

The Alimea plantation is located on the East coast, South of Bastia. The Santa Maria Poggio territory, like all of the East coast villages, stretches out from the seaside to the peak of the first mountain (1300 m). This is where Alain Suavet's small orchard is found, amidst a wooded maze, terraced by the sea.

When he settled there, Alain brought out of oblivion old garden terraces overlooking the sea and sheltered from the Northern winds by an overhang, exposed to the rising sun and showered by a spring harnessed above the berms.

Alain was able to rehabilitate, around the ancient stone house, the old terrace system that linked Corsican villages with orchards and gardens for the irrigable part, small family vineyards, cereal and olive trees for dry areas. Dating back to another agricultural era, this level has now become wild again : during the 60's, crops came down to the plain, where irrigation came in with the construction of the Alesani dam, and the terraces that were impassable for tractors were abandoned.

The site's remoteness amidst a lush scrub constitutes an ideal location for organic growing, as well as the very fertile soil, mild weather and availability of quality spring water.

 

See our recipes :

 

Kumquats bio corses - Alimea

Kumquats bio corses - Alimea

Kumquats bio corses - Alimea

Kumquats bio corses - Alimea

 

 

Citrus fruit | Citron | Lemon | Clementine | Kumquat | Mandarin | Orange | Bitter orange | Grapefruit
Home | Why Alimea ? | Our approach | Life at the orchard | Tips | Things to know | A few websites | Sitemap | Contacts
Our fruit | Production calendar | Printable sheets

ALIMEA - Organic fruit from Corsica - Bravone - F-20230 Linguizzetta - Tel. : +33 (0)4 95 38 88 74

Nos fruits - Le kumquat

 

UN EXOTIQUE DANS L'ÎLE DE BEAUTÉ

Le kumquat (Fortunella Japonica) appartient à la grande famille des agrumes. Il ressemble à une mini orange mais c'est bien une espèce à part entière. Peu connu en Europe, il est cultivé en Extrême Orient où il est très apprécié, pour sa saveur et pour ses vertus médicinales (c'est un excellent stimulant général). Il apporte une note exotique dans l'assortiment des agrumes de janvier à avril.

 

Une mine de santé

Très concentré en vitamine C, très riche en huiles essentielles, le kumquat est un excellent reconstituant. Dans sa zone de culture traditionnelle, il est d'ailleurs connu pour cet usage et on prolonge sa consommation en le conservant confit au sucre ou au vinaigre.

Si vous le découvrez, dégustez-le tout simplement frais, entier. Inutile de le peler ! Sa peau fine est sucrée et parfumée. Sa pulpe a un goût acidulé très rafraîchissant.

Il est aussi utilisé pour la préparation de pickles exotiques ou de fruits confits.

 

La culture

Résistant bien au froid, le kumquatier est en outre très rustique et parfaitement adapté au climat du littoral corse. Ses fruits sont récoltés et expédiés au fur et à mesure de leur maturité qui s'échelonne de janvier à avril-mai.

La plantation d'Alimea est située sur la côte orientale au sud de Bastia. Le territoire de Santa Maria Poggio, comme toutes les communes littorales de la côte orientale, s'étend du bord de mer à la crête de la première montagne (1300m). Là se trouve le petit verger d'Alain Suavet, au milieu d'un maquis arboré, en étage sur les premières terrasses.

Lorsqu'il s'est installé, Alain a tiré de l'oubli d'anciennes terrasses de jardins surplombant la mer. Abritées du vent du Nord par une avancée de la montagne, exposées au soleil levant, arrosées par une source captée au dessus des banquettes.

Alain a réussi à revaloriser autour d'une maison de pierre l'ancien système en terrasses qui maillait la proximité des villages corses de vergers et jardins pour la partie irrigable, petites vignes familiales, céréales et oliviers pour les zones sèches. Datant d'une autre époque agricole, cet étage est aujoud'hui redevenu sauvage : dans les années 60 les cultures sont descendues sur la « plaine » où arrivait l'irrigation avec la construction du barrage de l'Alesani et les terrasses non accessibles aux tracteurs ont été abandonnées.

L'isolement du site au milieu d'un maquis luxuriant constitue un cadre idéal pour la culture biologique, allié à un sol très fertile, au climat doux et à la disponibilité d'une eau de source de qualité.

 

Voir nos recettes :

 

Kumquats bio corses - Alimea

Kumquats bio corses - Alimea

Kumquats bio corses - Alimea

Kumquats bio corses - Alimea

 

 

Agrumes | Cédrat | Citron | Clémentine | Kumquat | Mandarine | Orange | Orange amère | Pomelo
Accueil | Présentation | Démarche | La vie du verger | Les plus | Savoirs | Liens | Plan du site | Contacts
Nos fruits | Leur saison | Fiches imprimables

ALIMEA - Fruits corses issus de l'agriculture biologique - Bravone - F-20230 Linguizzetta - Tél. : 04 95 38 88 74